Winter’s Return

Winter’s Return is the fourth full length Guy Winter mystery. It is set in England in the Second World War in the third month of the devastating night Blitz which followed the defeat of the Luftwaffe in the Battle of Britain.

In Winter’s Return Guy Winter returns to London, a city at once reeling under the relentless nightly bombardment, yet oddly growing ever more accustomed to the ongoing nightmare.

Shunned and unwanted by Scotland Yard the Mystery Man – a sobriquet earned long before the war because he was the man the Yard turned to solve the mysteries no other man could resolve – is assigned to S Division in Hampstead. However, his exile is short-lived.

Within days he and his faithful sergeant, George Ransom, are heading for the English Midlands, where on a country estate a few miles south of Coventry, Helen Chase, the nation’s most famous actress has been grievously wounded in an apparent orgy of mindless violence that has claimed several other lives in the most bizarre gruesome of circumstances.

Little does Guy Winter suspect that no matter how far he travels from London the ghostly echo of the Whitechapel Murders of 1888, the machinations of his former MI5 associates and the extraordinary revelations of an exotic German spy captured six weeks before in Scotland, will eventually catch up with him.

But before he must confront one fate, he must confront other demons in the fires consuming Coventry, the ‘city of spires’.


Audiobook edition available 30 Oct 2018








Books in the Guy Winter Mysteries series:

Would you like to subscribe to book announcements?

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This