Winter’s Pearl

Winter’s Pearl– Prologue to the Guy Winter Mysteries Series is a novella which sets the scene for the first full length Guy Winter Mystery, entitled Winter’s War.

Winter’s Pearl is set in London in the first months of the Second World War during the period of the so-called ‘Phoney War’.

It draws us into the complex world of Scotland Yard’s most famous detective Guy Winter; the Mystery Man. So named because no other living detective has ever solved as many mysteries as Winter of the Yard. However, the great detective’s fame and triumphs have come at a high cost.

Just when we think we’ve discovered our hero at his all time low, it gets worse and it doesn’t ever look like it is going to get better. Who needs enemies when your friends are on somebody else’s side?

Winter’s Pearl introduces – among others – many of the characters who will populate the early books of the Guy Winter Mysteries Series: Guy Winter [The Mystery Man], Helen Chase [the Film Star turned Mata Hari], Hugo Montfort [Winston Churchill’s ruthless gopher], Tubby Tyrell [the incorrigible high society fixer], my fictional version of Captain Maxwell Knight [the real life Head of Section B5(b) of MI5], Superintendent Othneil Plunkett [the Machiavellian Head of CID at Scotland Yard], Elspeth Charlton and the loyal and perceptive and dogged Sergeant George Ransom.

I have designed the Guy Winter Mysteries Series to fit together as coherent, linked episodes. One installment will flow to the next and so on with. Winter’s Pearl is literally a prologue to the events in the first full length book in the series. If you have already read Winter’s War, no matter, I am confident you will find the background and the insights in it entertaining.

Books in the Guy Winter Mysteries series:

Would you like to subscribe to book announcements?

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This